top of page
latent print.jpg

NCIAI OFFICERS (2023-2024)

Members of the board, officers, and editorial staff are volunteers and are not acting on behalf of their respective employers.

Officers

President

Casson Reynolds, MSCJ, CSCSA
Instructor / Developer
Criminal Investigations Certificate

Program Coordinator 
North Carolina Justice Academy - West Campus

Email: creynolds@ncdoj.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

1st Vice President

Adria M. Gharati, CLPE
Latent Print Examiner
Orlando Police Department
185 George DeSalvia Way
Orlando, FL 32807
Office: (407) 246-2413
Email: adria.gharati@orlando.gov

2nd Vice President 

Brooke Fail, CCSI
Crime Scene Supervisor
Wake County Government
Raleigh/Wake City-County Bureau of Identification
919.369.9217

Email: marie.fail@wake.gov

Treasurer

Heather Black, CLPE
Forensic Scientist III
Latent Evidence
North Carolina State Crime Laboratory
2306 W. Meadowview Road, Suite 110
Greensboro, NC 27407
(336) 315-4912

Email: hblack@ncdoj.gov

Sergeant at Arms

Clinton Babb CLPE, CSCSA
Corporal
Criminal Investigations Division
Cary Police Department
120 Wilkinson Ave.
Cary, NC 27513
919-481-5523
Email: Clinton.Babb@townofcary.org

Secretary

Erin Biggio, CLPE
Forensic Scientist Supervisor

Latent Evidence
North Carolina State Crime Laboratory
121 E. Tryon Road
Raleigh, NC 27603
(919) 582-8743

Email: ebiggio@ncdoj.gov

Historian

Melissa Southern, CFPH
Forensic Photographer
Raleigh/Wake City-County Bureau of Identification
3301 Hammond Rd
Raleigh, NC 27603
919-255-7354

Email: melissa.southern@wakegov.com

Editor

Shannon Smith, CLPE, CSCSA

Email: semcguirk@yahoo.com

Board of Directors (2023-2024)

Board of Directors

Members of the board, officers, and editorial staff are volunteers and are not acting on behalf of their respective employers.

Chairperson of the Board

Doreen Huntington, CLPE

Latent Print Supervisor (Retired)
Guilford County Sheriff’s Office
508 Industrial Ave
Greensboro, NC 27406
(336) 641-5976

Email: dhuntin@guilfordcountync.gov

Board Member

Bradley Whitaker, CLPE, CCSI

Captain
Moore County Sheriff’s Office
302 S. McNeill Street / P.O. Box 40
Carthage, NC  28327
(910) 947-2931 (w)
(910) 639-1386 (c)

Email: bwhitaker@moorecountync.gov

Board Member

Lukas Feldbusch, CLPE
Latent Print Examiner
New Hanover County Sheriff’s Office
CSI Division
3950-D Juvenile Center Rd.
Castle Hayne, NC 28429
910-798-4494

Email: lfeldbusch@nhcgov.com

Board Member

Brian Dew, CLPE
Latent Print Examiner
New Hanover County Sheriff’s Office
3950-D Juvenile Center Rd.
Castle Hayne, NC 28429
910-798-4494

Email: dewbrian@gmail.com

Board Member

Captain Randy L. Horton, CSCSA, CLPE
Forensic Services / Property & Evidence Supervisor
Iredell County Sheriff’s Office
231 Constitution Lane
Statesville, NC 28677
(704) 924-4080 (w)

Email: randy.horton@co.iredell.nc.us

Committees

NCIAI Committees

Regional Representative

Rebecca Heinrich Email: rebecca.heinrich@durhamnc.gov

Auditing Committee

The Auditing Committee shall consist of three (3) members appointed by the President, whose duty shall be to audit and inspect the financial accounts of the Association prior to the annual Business Meeting, or at such other times as may be directed by the President of the Board of Directors. The Committee shall report to the Association at each annual Spring Conference or at such other times as the President or Board of Directors may direct.

Auditing Committee - Chairperson: Clint Babb Email: clinton.babb@townofcary.org

Auditing Committee - Member: Tracy Crowther Email: tcrowth@guilfordcountync.gov

Auditing Committee - Member: Allison Whitler Email: awhitler@ncdoj.gov

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee shall consist of three (3) members appointed by the President, whose duty shall be to solicit and screen applicants for the North Carolina Division of the International Association for Identification.

Membership Committee - Co-chair: Erin Biggio Email: ebiggio@ncdoj.gov

Membership Committee - Co-chair: Christa Leonard Email: Christa.Leonard@greensboro-nc.gov

Membership Committee - Member (Central): Gretchen Bartizal Email: Gbartizal@ncdoj.gov

Membership Committee - Member (West): Makayla S. Pegg Email: makayla.pegg@buncombecounty.org

Membership Committee - Member (East): Lukas Feldbusch Email: lfeldbusch@nhcgov.com

Training Committee

To bring in training in both latent prints and crime scenes to the state. The aim of these training sessions is to help those who are working toward certification or recertification.

Training Committee - Co-Chair (crime scene): Casson Reynolds Email: creynolds@ncdoj.gov

Training Committee - Co-Chair (latent): Doreen Huntington Email: dhuntin@guildfordcountync.gov

Training Committee - Member: Nicole Meldrum Email: nmeldrum@guilfordcountync.gov

Training Committee - Member: Randy Horton Email: randy.horton@co.iredell.nc.us

Training Committee - Member: Bradley Whitaker Email: bwhitaker@moorecountync.gov

Training Committee - Member: Rebecca Heinrich Email: rebecca.heinrich@durhamnc.gov

Training Committee - Member: Bryan Brendley Email: bbrendley@methodist.edu

Training Committee - Member: Angela Berry Email: latamr60@gmail.com

By-Laws Committee / Operation Manual Members:

A committee to organize and change the by-laws when needed to make sure it coincides with the

parent organization rules.

By-Laws Committee / Operations Manual - Chair: Brian Dew Email: dewbrian@gmail.com

By-Laws Committee / Operations Manual - Member: Mike Summers Email: msummers@wilsonnc.org

By-Laws Committee / Operations Manual - Member: Steve Williams Email: swwilliams@ncdoj.gov

By-Laws Committee / Operations Manual - Member: Casson Reynolds Email: creynolds@ncdoj.gov

Conference Committee

To assist the conference planner with setting up and organizing our training conferences. This includes dealing with vendors and guest speakers, soliciting donations and to provide any necessary manpower at the conference.

Conference Committee - Co-Chair (Hotels, Vendors,Social): Randy Horton Email: randy.horton@co.iredell.nc.us

Conference Committee - Co-Chair (Hotels, Vendors,Social): Adria Gharati Email: adria.gharati@orlando.gov

Conference Committee - Co-Chair (Presenters/Workshops): Jaclynn McKay Email: jmckay@rti.org

Conference Committee - Co-Chair (Presenters/Workshops): Jessica Dennis Email: jessica.dennis@buncombecounty.org

Conference Committee -Co-Chair (Finances): Heather Black Email: hblack@ncdoj.gov

Conference Committee Member (Local Rep): Ginger Blakev Email: blake@nhcgov.com

Conference Committee Member (Local Rep): Lukas Feldbusch Email: lfeldbusch@nhcgov.com

Conference Committee Member (Hospitality): Bradley Whitaker Email: bwhitaker@moorecountync.gov

Conference Committee Member (Hospitality): Clint Babb Email: clinton.babb@townofcary.org

Conference Committee Member: Brooke Fail Email: marie.fail@wake.gov

Conference Committee Member: Andy Parker Email: andy.parker@wakegov.com

Conference Committee Member: Shannon Smith Email: semcguirk@yahoo.com

Conference Committee Member: Leslie Popik Email: leslie.popik@greensboro-nc.us

Conference Committee Member: Rebecca Heinrich Email: rebecca.heinrich@durhamnc.gov

Conference Committee Member: Erin Biggio Email: ebiggio@ncdoj

Merchandise Committee

To design and produce items of interest such as shirts and hats with the organization logo to sell to the membership.

Merchandise Committee - Co-Chair: Amanda Holowaty Email: amanda.holowaty@durhamnc.gov

Merchandise Committee - Co-Chair: Brooke Fail Email: marie.fail@wakegov.com

Merchandise Committee - Member: Leslie Popik Email: leslie.popik@greensboro-nc.gov

Merchandise Committee - Member: Shannon Smith Email: semcguirk@yahoo.com

Merchandise Committee - Member: Brittany Nosal Email: Brittany.Nosal@wakegov.com

Merchandise Committee - Member: Carla Foran Email: Carla.Foran@wakegov.com

Merchandise Committee - Member: Alycia Smentkiewicz Email: alycia.smentkiewicz@greensboro-nc.gov

Merchandise Committee - Member: Allison C. Whitler Email: awhitler@ncdoj.gov

Awards/Goodwill Committee Members

To be alert to organization members who should be recognized by the NCIAI for a job well done, achievements or accomplishments. Also to be a contact point for membership notification of ill, injured or death of a member and to make the President and Board of Directors aware of the information. Also to send a get well card and will assist in organizing attendance at a ceremony.

Awards/Goodwill Committee - Co-Chair: Beth Williamson Email: bethpwilliamson@gmail.com 

Awards/Goodwill Committee - Co-Chair: Brooke Fail Email: marie.fail@wakegov.com

Awards/Goodwill Committee - Member: Kim Breeden Email: Kim.Breeden@wilmingtonnc.gov

Awards/Goodwill Committee - Member: Ginger Blake Email: vblake@nhcgov.com

Awards/Goodwill Committee - Member: Amy Wilde Email: amy.wilde@highpointnc.gov

Awards/Goodwill Committee - Member: Leigh Thomas Email: leigh.thomas@buncombecounty.org

Legal and Forensic Updates Committee Members

To monitor and advise the NCIAI of any new legislation/laws that could affect the forensic field.

Legal and Forensic Updates Committee - Co-Chair: Leslie Daugherty Email: ldaugherty@ncdoj.gov

Legal and Forensic Updates Committee - Co-Chair: Andy Parker Email: andy.parker@wakegov.com

Legal and Forensic Updates Committee - Member: Leslie Popik Email: leslie.popik@greensboro-nc.gov

Legal and Forensic Updates Committee - Member: Jaclynn McKay Email: jmckay@rti.org

Website & Audio Visual Committee Members:

Website/Audio Visual Committee - Co-Chair: Shannon Smith Email: semcguirk@yahoo.com

Website/Audio Visual Committee - Co-Chair: Casson Reynolds Email: creynolds@ncdoj.gov

Website/Audio Visual Committee - Member: Melissa Southern Email: melissa.southern@wakegov.com

Website/Audio Visual Committee - Member: Shelly Garis Email: shelley.garis@greensboro-nc.gov

Website/Audio Visual Committee - Member:Jaclynn McKay Email: jmckay@rti.org

SAFIS User's Committee

SAFIS User's Committee - Co-Chair: Karen Marrow Email: kmarrow@ncdoj.gov

SAFIS User's Committee - Co-Chair: Brian Dew Email: dewbrian@gmail.com

SAFIS User's Committee - Member: Rebecca Heinrich Email: rebecca.heinrich@durhamnc.gov

SAFIS User's Committee - Member: Doreen Huntington Email: dhuntin@co.guilford.nc.us 

bottom of page